June 25, 2013

  • Pleasant Hill – Full Circle

     
    Jen from the bank just called to tell me we will be signing papers on Thursday with closing on Friday then we will own a house in Pleasant Hill, Missouri.  Ironically, I grew up just across the cornfield from Pleasant Hill, Iowa and lived in Pleasant Hill, Iowa for about 3 years prior to marrying him.  I’m so looking forward to returning to Pleasant Hill as my return address.  I’ve never felt permanence in where I have lived.  I’m not going to say I haven’t been content in most places but I’ve never felt like…ok…this is it…this is where I”m planted and this is where I”m going to bloom.  I’ve always known that I didn’t want to always live where I live now.  The history is irrelevant  for this post but suffice it to say that in the past, I’ve been just happy to go with the flow; but recently, have been restless and have been experiencing a lot of discontent — probably because both girls have moved away from Newton.  I used to run, run, run volunteering for this and that but as the community has changed, so have I and I just have no desire to continue giving myself here.  The promise of a new place and new community has given me a lot of hope.  Moving closer to my only grandson was the catalyst I needed to make the move to get the hell outta dodge.

    …and speaking of Des Moines…squirrel

    Knowing I’m moving away from the proximity of my birth city, I’ve been a lot more aware of Des Moines.  It’s kind of a new look at a fresh,  vibrant city.  I would have probably been reasonably content to move back to the Des Moines area – actually while I was contemplating this, I realized what I really enjoyed was the fresh new downtown area with the living in the city, walking to and fro, being able to attend concerts along the Des Moines river…but if I were to stay in Des Moines, I know that I would probably live in the burbs and only occasionally visit the city which I can do now probably just as much as I would now that Katy makes her home in the downtown area.  The other moment I had thinking about leaving Des Moines was coming off of 235 onto I80 west, coming around the curve just before E 14th St took my breath away the other day.  The tree line…the city rising up, the beautiful capitol to the east…I had not noticed this momentary view at 65 miles per hour before.

    That’s it ….. until next time

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *